Perspective Online

NBS-UWG Wins Big in Hollywood

by Kate Croxton

The University of West Georgia Chapter of the National Broadcasting Society-Alpha Epsilon Rho (NBS-AERho) won a total of 10 awards at the 74th annual NBS-AERho convention in Hollywood.

NBS-UWG Wins Big in HollywoodNBS-UWG is a registered student organization with 25-30 members and is advised by founder Dr. Brad Yates, a professor of mass communications.

AERho is the nation’s only honor society for electronic media students and is a member of the Association of College Honor Societies.

The Board of Governors of NBS-AERho and the National Electronic Media Association recognized NBS-UWG at the national Chapter of the Year for the second year in a row. The chapter was also named a Model Chapter for the third year in a row. The board also honored the chapter with the Community Service Award for Multiple Projects for the second year in a row.

Individual students also received national recognition. Vice President Alexandria Thomas, senior, received the AERho Student of the Year Award. Chapter President Chase Johnson, senior, earned an Honorable Mention for the National Student of the Year Award. Six students were inducted into AERho as lifetime members, including Breanna Fox, Shanika Joyner, Roger Newell, Larissa Peterson, Laurie “Britt” Poteet, and Anna Rush.

The chapter’s professional members were also acknowledged for their outstanding work. WOLF Internet Radio Operations Manager Shawn Isaacs was recognized as the Professional Member of the Year. Alum and NBS Professional Member Adam Tucker placed first in the Professional and Alumni Production Competition for this promotional video “Greg ‘Rooster’ Smith Iron Bowl” in the Website/Other category. He also earned two Honorable Mention honors for his promos “2015 Iron Bowl Promo” and “2015 Auburn Football Promo” in the Video Promotional/Educational category.

Alumna Rachel Vinson’s Media Law paper “Heckler’s Veto” won the Grand Prize at the 53rd annual Undergraduate Student Electronic Media Competition in the Academic Paper category for the fourth year in a row.

NBS-UWG Chapter Secretary Sierra Lemelle, sophomore, was a finalist in the Audio PSA category and was elected for a one-year term as a student governor to the Board of Governors.


Do you have a comment or opinion about this story's topic? Perspective Online wants to hear from you. Submit a letter to the editor today.

Letters to the Editor Policy

Posted: April 12, 2016

Share this story!

FacebooktwitterLinkedInYouTubePinterestInstagram Give WestUniversity of West Georgia