Perspective Online

Honors Convocation Recognizes Scholastic Achievement

by Taylor Kilgore

Honors Convocation Recognizes Scholastic AchievementThe 2016 Honors Convocation at the University of West Georgia’s Townsend Center recognized students from all colleges and departments for their outstanding academic achievement. Dr. Kyle Marrero, UWG president, presented the awards.

In addition to the presentation of awards, guests were entertained with a music segment including the UWG Chamber Singers, UWG Opera Workshop, a piece by clarinetist Kyle Willoughby, euphoniumists Jon Bucholz and Alex Swindle, and the UWG Theatre Company.

Each award recipient was called on stage individually. The full list of winners is as follows:

College of Science and Mathematics

The James Emory Boyd Awards
Chemistry: Ashley N. Kendrick
Geology: Nicholas Camper
Computer Science: Daniel Burkhart & Jonathan Walker
Physics: Radoslaw Kochanowski

The Outstanding Senior in Biology Faculty Award
Zachariah Hampton Bell

The American Institute of Chemists Award
Kristopher E. Akers

College of Social Sciences

The Tom Herndon Awards
Geography: Tyler Nelson Callum
Criminology: Matthew Ross
Sociology: Lyrica Solomon
Economics: Brittany A. Benefield
History: Amanda Elaine Pack
Political Science: Micayla C. Hersey
Psychology: Amelia L. Bagwell

The Carole E. Hill Award in Anthropology
Janaka Ashley Greene

The Waring Distinguished Scholar Award
Samantha Dawson
Honors Convocation Recognizes Scholastic Achievement
College of Arts and Humanities

The Gordon Watson Awards
Art: Stephanie Brooke Gordon
English: Taylor M. McAnally
Philosophy: Alex Clark
Foreign Language - French: Sally R. Hobson
Foreign Language - German: Emily Hunt
Foreign Language - Spanish: Sara Isbell
Mass Communication: Cassidy Chreene Whittle
Theatre Arts: Erica Monique Randle
Music: Kevin L. Hays Jr.

Tanner Health System School of Nursing

RN-BSN Carrollton: Heather Adcock, RN
RN-BSN Newnan: Heike Merz, RN
BSN: Chelsea Mobley

Richards College of Business

Frank R. Hunsicker Award in Management
Sierra Desere Carson

Awards in Academic Excellence
Accounting: Kinsey Renea Gilliam
Finance: Jia Jia Chen
Marketing: Sarah Elizabeth Gray
Real Estate: Courtney Alexandria Johnson
Management Information System: Robert Alex Neumann

College of Education

Honors Convocation Recognizes Scholastic AchievementOutstanding Student in Communication Sciences and Disorders
Ashlynn S. Deese

Outstanding Student in Early Childhood Education
Jessica L. Anderson

Outstanding Student in Secondary Education
Benjamin Martin

Outstanding Student in Physical Education
Kelsey Turner

Outstanding Student in Sport Management
Jake Berry

Exemplary Leadership in Sport Management
Rodrigues Crowder

W. Malcolm Flanagan Award
Maegan Williams

Health and Physical Education Excellence in Teaching
Carirosa Powell

University Awards

Mrs. Jewell Miles Burson Calculus Award
Ashley Morgan Hall

Marion Crider Awards
Amy Rae Salyards
Bridgette Danielle Puckett
Hailey Elizabeth Swafford

Outstanding Women’s Studies Award
Daniel Edward Paulus Chuhna

Outstanding Honors College Students

Honors Convocation 2016Freshmen
John Lanier
Alenandre Paul Lucas
Ian Voegtlin
Heather (lili) Yu

Katherine Boalch
Keri Jones
Jane Lee
Christine Perez

Alexandra Sasha Gunter
Micayla Hersey
Sally Hobson
Michael Pepe

Amelia Bagwell
Abigail Driver
Taylor McAnally
Valentina Michelle Michael

John J. Pershing Award
Tianyi Li

Academic Recognition Day Scholar
Drew Barker

Honors Faculty of the Year Award
Dr. Nicholas Sterling


Do you have a comment or opinion about this story's topic? Perspective Online wants to hear from you. Submit a letter to the editor today.

Letters to the Editor Policy

Posted: April 6, 2016

Share this story!

FacebooktwitterLinkedInYouTubePinterestInstagram Give WestUniversity of West Georgia